Amnesia: A Machine For Pigs Is Making Me a Better Person

I’ll admit that I’m not the best choice when it comes to playing the Amnesia series from Frictional Games. This pioneering horror survival franchise is too hot for my blood. Some of my personality traits don’t allow me to process the haunting on the screen very well. I sleep badly enough as it is.

Yet, while going through Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs, for impending review, I did manage to find a silver lining for myself. It’s made me much more courteous. While I’d just storm through buildings in any other title, in Amnesia, I make damn sure that I take the extra second to close each and every door behind me; you know, just in case. No impolite door opening, nothing ruffled, nothing scuffed; everything is left as untouched as possible, before exiting the area.

Amnesia a Machine For Pigs steam pc horror survival gameplay

My reasoning is: If I need to open the door to pass, so will whatever abomination that lurks in the darkness. I think the game knows this about me, because it has already thrown multiple instances where this wasn’t a possibility. Also, periodically, I’ll come about a silent door. Those are some messed up priorities, having such well-oiled doors all over the place. At least I’ll keep doing it whenever I can. Who knows; it might affect my common courtesy in real life as well.

Amnesia a Machine For Pigs steam pc horror survival gameplay (1)

I’ll be curious to see what the debate of A Machine For Pigs versus The Dark Descent will be, once the game hits. We can’t get into details right now, since scary games aren’t scary when you already know what’s coming. This post is as spoiler-free as possible. I think we all know some doors will come our way. My apologies if you weren’t expecting doors in a horror title. However, I think there will be some interesting discussions on the matter shortly. Maybe my new-found politeness will help in that debate.

Leave a Reply

